Archive | July 2010

Thursday July 29/10 Playlist

  1. Orgone – Crazy Queen
  2. Michael James Kirkland – Hang On In There
  3. Grupo Fantasma – Realizando
  4. Quantic’s Flowering Inferno – Te Pico El Yaibi
  5. The Roots – Now or Never
  6. D-Sisive – Never Knew Me
  7. Big Boi – Daddy Fat Sax
  8. Madlib – Afrosound Panorama/The SHow
  9. Budos Band -Raja Haje
  10. Ebo Taylor – Twer Nyame
  11. Mr. Something SOmething – THe Edge
  12. Phone Interview with Mr. Something Something singer Johan Hultqvist
  13. Mr. Something SOmething – WHy WHy WHy

Mr. Something Something Interview Thursday

Tune into the Music of My Mind Thursday (5:00-6:30PM) July 29 on CFUV 101.9FM from 6:00-6:30PM for a feature interview with Mr. Something Something singer/frontman Johan Hultqvist and music from Mr. SS’s great discography. Mr. Something Something will be in Victoria Friday night for a show at Hermann’s Jazz Club.

Down Under Special – Thurs July 22/10

Today on MoMM, we will celebrate the music coming from down under, including Australia and New Zealand. The funky drummer, Groovin Reuven Sussman has just returned from the land of Aus and will be my co-host for the first hour (5-6PM) of the program today. He had the chance to check out a lot of music and will share some of it with you today. We’ll hear from the likes of longtime MoMM favorites The Bamboos, the Public Opinion Afro Orchestra, Fat Freddy’s Drop, Open Souls and much much more. Also stay tuned for music from Mr. Something Something with a preview of their show July 30 @ Hermann’s here in Victoria as well as a ticket giveaway.Tune into CFUV 101.9FM from 5:00-630PM or at

The Bamboos

The Public Opinion Afro Orchestra

  1. The Public Opinion Afro Orchestra – Future Africa
  2. The Bamboos – In the Bamboo GRoove
  3. Cookin On 3 Burners – Keb’s Bucket
  4. M-Phazes feat. Solo – For What It’s Worth
  5. Hilltop Hoodz – B Boy Battle Gear 
  6. Plutonic Lab – Echoes
  7. Fat Freddy’s Drop – The Nod
  8. Open Souls – Standing In the Rain
  9. The Bamboos – Kings Cross
  10. Mr. Something Something feat. Ikwunga – You Are Beautiful
  11. God Made Me Funky – Comeonuptogetdown
  12. KC Roberts and The Live Revolution – Sliver
  13. Tommy Guerrero feat Lyrics Born – Gettin It Together
  14. Sax Drums and Rock n Roll – Kiyran Bebop/Seven Nation Army Medley

Mr. Something Something Live in Victoria

Mr. Something Something returns to Hermann's Friday July 30

Get ready for the return of Toronto’s Mr. Something Something to kick off the last long weekend of the summer in Victoria. The afrobeat and funk inspired Juno nominees return to Hermann’s for another incredible high energy performance. The band is continuing to tour in support of last year’s superb release, Shine Your Face. We promise it will be a night of grooves you won’t soon forget.
We will also be celebrating the life and music of the Black President, Fela Kuti, the man who created the Afrobeat sound. This long weekend will mark the 13th anniversary of the death of Fela, who passed away on Aug 2, 1997. We will celebrate with an Afro-Funk dance party following Mr. Something Something with a very special guest DJ. Check out the Facebook page here.
Next week on the Music of My Mind (July 22 5:00-6:30PM), we will feature music from Mr. SS and also parts of a candid interview I did with frontman Johan Hultqvist a couple of years back. Keep your dialed locked to CFUV 101.9FM,, this blog and Twitter for further details, audio, video and most importantly ticket giveaways.

Thursday July 15/10 Playlist + update


  1. Donny Hathaway – Slums
  2. Pretty Purdie and the Playboys feat. Gil Scott-Heron – Artificialness
  3. Orgone – Lookout
  4. African Music Machine – Black Water Gold
  5. La Tromba – Calaba Calabao
  6. Los Barba – Al Sonar La Hora
  7. Five Alarm Funk – Brother Egypt
  8. Olatunji – O Wa
  9. Original Broadway Cast of Fela! – Coffin For Head Of State
  10. Staff Benda Bilili – Staff Benda Bilili
  11. Konono No.1 – Guiyome
  12. Miles Davis – Miles Runs the Voodoo Down
  13. The Roots feat. Jim James – Dear God 2.0
  14. D-Sisive feat. Ron Sexsmith – Liberace
  15. Buck 65 – Tears in Space